2020

Sustainability Report

Dear BPW Partners, Employees and Friends,

Michael Pfeiffer

Achim Kotz

Markus Schell

in the world of transport, nothing remains as it was: digitalisation, lack of drivers, climate regulations and the corona pandemic pose new challenges to all of us. The courage to change and the willigness to make a difference, is therefore more important than ever before. In doing so, we are guided by the values of the Honourable Businessman in order to ensure the long-term success of BPW and to operate in harmony with our environment at the same time. We have a long tradition of living responsibility, which we express through our ongoing membership of the UN Global Compact, the world’s largest and most important initiative for sustainable and responsible corporate governance.

In our current Sustainability Report, which we publish exclusively online since 2019, we show you how we live this corporate responsibility, how we keep it alive and how we continuously develop it. The framework for this is provided by the three main pillars of our sustainability strategy: Employees & Society, Product Responsibility and Environment & Energy. All our actions, measures and activities follow these fields of action.

To protect the climate, for example, we have been using 100 percent green electricity, some of which we produce ourselves, for several years. In 2020, we also switched completely to green gas. With lightweight components and intelligent trailer chassis, we are helping to reduce diesel consumption, tyre and material wear in road freight transport. But our commitment does not end at the factory gates. In addition to the health of our own employees, the health and appreciation of the truck drivers who keep our industry running is also a major concern for us. For this reason, we not only engage as a DocStop location to ensure the medical care of professional truck drivers on the road, but also support the initiatives #LogistikHilft (LogisticsHelp) and the PROFI e.V. (Pro Trucker Image) association.

We cordially invite you to read about our ideas, initiatives and progress for a better world in our current sustainability report.

Your personally liable managing partners

Michael Pfeiffer, Achim Kotz, Markus Schell

Michael Pfeiffer

Achim Kotz

Markus Schell

01

Employees and Community

The people who work at BPW determine the success of the company. So it is a natural course of action that all employees are supported in their challenges and in their individual development – in relation to health, social issues and work. BPW also takes on social responsibility, teaches apprentices democratic values and leads the way for diversity.

02

Product Responsibility

Transport is more than a way of moving from A to B. BPW sees transport and logistics as one overall system – forming closely interlinked chain reactions and eco systems. BPW employs an integrated innovation strategy to achieve sustainable gains in efficiency – for the climate, the environment, people and nature. It begins with the selection of materials and suppliers and extends through production and ultimately to recycling.

03

Environment and Energy

BPW was established 120 years ago with hydroelectric power – and continues to set standards in the use of renewable energies today: Since 2017, BPW has been obtaining its electricity exclusively from CO2-neutral sources – including directly from its own solar roofs. By 2020, natural gas purchase is also CO2-neutral. BPW is also making significant progress in terms of energy efficiency – both at the plant and along the supply chain.
For reasons of better readability, the masculine form is used for personal names and personal nouns on this website. Corresponding terms apply to all genders in the sense of equal treatment. The abbreviated language form has only editorial reasons and does not imply any valuation.

The group photos shown on the website were taken before the Corona pandemic.

1 | No Poverty

Economic growth must be inclusive to provide sustainable jobs and promote equality

2 | Zero Hunger

The food and agriculture sector offers key solutions for development, and is central for hunger and poverty eradication

3 | Good Health and Well-Being

Ensuring healthy lives and promoting the well-being for all at all ages is essential to sustainable development

4 | Quality Education

Obtaining a quality education is the foundation to improving people’s lives and sustainable development

5 | Gender Equality

Gender equality is not only a fundamental human right, but a necessary foundation for a peaceful, prosperous and sustainable world

6 | Clean Water and Sanitation

Clean, accessible water for all is an essential part of the world we want to live in

7 | Affordable and clean Energy

Energy is central to nearly every major challenge and opportunity.

8 | Decent Work and economic Growth

Sustainable economic growth will require societies to create the conditions that allow people to have quality jobs

9 | Industry, Innovation and Infrastructure

Investments in infrastructure are crucial to achieving sustainable development

10 | Reduced Inequalities

To reduce inequalities, policies should be universal in principle, paying attention to the needs of disadvantaged and marginalized populations

11 | Sustainable Cities and Communities

There needs to be a future in which cities provide opportunities for all, with access to basic services, energy, housing, transportation and more

12 | Responsible Consumption and Production

Ensure sustainable consumption and production patterns

13 | Climate Action

Climate change is a global challenge that affects everyone, everywhere

14 | Life below water

Careful management of this essential global resource is a key feature of a sustainable future

15 | Life on Land

Sustainably manage forests, combat desertification, halt and reverse land degradation, halt biodiversity loss

16 | Peace, Justice and strong Institutions

Access to justice for all, and building effective, accountable institutions at all levels

17 | Partnerships for the Goals

Revitalize the global partnership for sustainable development

2020

Nachhaltig­keitsbericht

Liebe Partner, Mitarbeiter und Freunde von BPW,

Michael Pfeiffer

Achim Kotz

Markus Schell

in der Transportwelt bleibt nichts, wie es war: Digitalisierung, Fahrermangel, Klimaauflagen und die Corona-Pandemie stellen neue Herausforderungen an uns alle. Daher ist der Mut zur Veränderung, der Wille, etwas zu bewegen, heute wichtiger denn je. Dabei werden wir von den Werten des Ehrbaren Kaufmanns geleitet, um den Erfolg von BPW langfristig zu sichern und gleichzeitig im Einklang mit unserem Umfeld zu wirtschaften. Gelebte Verantwortung hat bei uns eine lange Tradition, der wir mit unserer fortwährenden Mitgliedschaft bei UN Global Compact, der weltweit größten und wichtigsten Initiative für nachhaltige und verantwortungsvolle Unternehmensführung, Ausdruck verleihen.

In unserem aktuellen Nachhaltigkeitsbericht, den wir seit 2019 nur noch online veröffentlichen, zeigen wir Ihnen auf, wie wir diese unternehmerische Verantwortung leben, wie wir sie lebendig halten und kontinuierlich weiterentwickeln. Den Rahmen dafür bilden die drei wesentlichen Säulen unserer Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie: Mitarbeiter & Gesellschaft, Produktverantwortung sowie Umwelt & Energie. All unsere Handlungen, Maßnahmen und Aktivitäten folgen diesen Handlungsfeldern.

Um das Klima zu schützen setzen wir beispielweise seit einigen Jahren zu 100 Prozent auf Ökostrom, den wir zum Teil selbst produzieren. 2020 sind wir außerdem komplett auf Öko-Gas umgestiegen. Mit Leichtbau-Komponenten und intelligenten Trailerfahrwerken tragen wir dazu bei, den Dieselverbrauch sowie Reifen- und Materialverschleiß im Straßengütertransport zu senken. Unser Engagement endet aber nicht an den Werkstoren. Neben der Gesundheit unserer eigenen Mitarbeiter ist uns auch die Gesundheit und Wertschätzung der Lkw-Fahrer, die unsere Branche am Laufen halten, ein wichtiges Anliegen. Daher engagieren wir uns nicht nur als DocStop-Standort für die medizinische Unterwegsversorgung der Berufskraftfahrer, sondern unterstützen auch die Initiativen #LogistikHilft und den Verein PROFI (Pro Fahrer Image e.V.)

Wir laden Sie herzlichen ein, in unserem aktuellen Nachhaltigkeitsbericht unsere Ideen, Initiativen und Fortschritte für eine bessere Welt kennenzulernen.

Ihr Michael Pfeiffer, Achim Kotz und Markus Schell

Michael Pfeiffer

Achim Kotz

Markus Schell

01

Mitarbeiter und Gesellschaft

Die Menschen, die bei BPW arbeiten, bestimmen den Erfolg des Unternehmens. So ist es selbstverständlich, dass alle Mitarbeiter in ihren Herausforderungen und in ihrer individuellen Entwicklung unterstützt werden – gesundheitlich, sozial und beruflich. Darüber hinaus übernimmt BPW auch gesellschaftliche Verantwortung, vermittelt Auszubildenden demokratische Werte oder setzt Zeichen für Vielfalt.

02

Produkt­verantwortung

Transport ist mehr als der Weg von A nach B. BPW denkt Transport und Logistik als Gesamtsystem – sie bilden eng miteinander verzahnte Wirkketten und Ökosysteme. Mit einer ganzheitlichen Innovationsstrategie erzielt BPW nachhaltige Effizienzgewinne – auch für Klima, Umwelt, Mensch und Natur. Sie fängt bei der Auswahl der Werkstoffe und Lieferanten an und reicht über die Produktion und Nutzung bis zum Recycling.

03

Umwelt und Energie

BPW wurde vor 120 Jahren mit Wasserkraft aufgebaut – und setzt auch heute beim Einsatz erneuerbarer Energien Maßstäbe: Seit 2017 bezieht BPW seinen Strom ausschließlich aus CO2-neutralen Quellen – auch von direkt von eigenen Solardächern. Bis 2020 soll auch der Erdgasbezug CO2-neutral sein. Deutliche Fortschritte erzielt BPW auch bei der Energieeffizienz – im Werk und entlang der Lieferkette.

Aus Gründen der besseren Lesbarkeit wird bei Personenbezeichnungen und personenbezogenen Hauptwörtern auf dieser Website die männliche Form verwendet. Entsprechende Begriffe gelten im Sinne der Gleichbehandlung grundsätzlich für alle Geschlechter. Die verkürzte Sprachform hat nur redaktionelle Gründe und beinhaltet keine Wertung.

Die auf der Website dargestellten Gruppenfotos wurden vor der Corona-Pandemie aufgenommen.

1 | No Poverty

Armut in allen ihren Formen und überall beenden

2 | Zero Hunger

Den Hunger beenden, Ernährungs­sicherheit und eine bessere Ernährung erreichen und eine nachhaltige Landwirtschaft fördern

3 | Good Health and Well-Being

Ein gesundes Leben für alle Menschen jeden Alters gewährleisten und ihr Wohlergehen fördern

4 | Quality Education

Inklusive, gleich­berechtigte und hochwertige Bildung gewährleisten und Möglichkeiten lebenslangen Lernens für alle fördern

5 | Gender Equality

Geschlechter­gleich­stellung erreichen und alle Frauen und Mädchen zur Selbst­bestimmung befähigen

6 | Clean Water and Sanitation

Verfügbarkeit und nachhaltige Bewirtschaftung von Wasser und Sanitär­versorgung für alle gewährleisten

7 | Affordable and clean Energy

Zugang zu bezahlbarer, verlässlicher, nachhaltiger und moderner Energie für alle sichern

8 | Decent Work and economic Growth

Dauerhaftes, breiten­wirksames und nach­haltiges Wirtschafts­wachstum, produktive Vollbeschäftigung und menschen­würdige Arbeit für alle fördern

9 | Industry, Innovation and Infrastructure

Eine widerstands­fähige Infrastruktur aufbauen, breiten­wirksame und nachhaltige Industriali­sierung fördern und Innovationen unterstützen

10 | Reduced Inequalities

Ungleichheit in und zwischen Ländern verringern

11 | Sustainable Cities and Communities

Städte und Siedlungen inklusiv sicher, widerstandsfähig und nachhaltig gestalten

12 | Responsible Consumption and Production

Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen

13 | Climate Action

Umgehend Maßnahmen zur Bekämpfung des Klimawandels und seiner Auswirkungen ergreifen

14 | Life below water

Ozeane, Meere und Meeresressourcen im Sinne nachhaltiger Entwicklung erhalten und nachhaltig nutzen

15 | Life on Land

Landökosysteme schützen, wieder­herstellen und ihre nach­haltige Nutzung fördern, Wälder nachhaltig bewirtschaften, Wüsten­bildung bekämpfen, Boden­degradation beenden und umkehren und dem Verlust der biologischen Vielfalt ein Ende setzen

16 | Peace, Justice and strong Institutions

Friedliche und inklusive Gesell­schaften für eine nach­­haltige Entwicklung fördern, allen Menschen Zugang zur Justiz ermöglichen und leistungs­­fähige, rechenschafts­­pflichtige und inklusive Institutionen auf allen Ebenen aufbauen

17 | Partnerships for the Goals

Umsetzungsmittel stärken und die Globale Partnerschaft für nachhaltige Entwicklung mit neuem Leben erfüllen